eSailing Nations Cup – Knock-out round format confirmed

As the excitement for the first ever eSailing Nations Cup builds and we get ready to watch the fleet races on 10 October (from 20:00 UTC), here are the details for the knock-out stages of the competition, and how the rounds will look based on the seeding.

The illustration below is based on 13 teams. The teams who are ranked 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the seeding will automatically go through to the Quarter Final (see QF 1, 2 and 4 below). Each round will get us closer to that all-important final showdown on the 6 November, where will we crown the first ever World Champion National eSailing Team!

Nations have selected teams of 10 players, showing the depth and breadth of the eSailing teams in their country. Over the next month, we will see top male and female eSailors, professional sailors, and eSailors who have qualified by their results in the national ranking or through club championships, all battling it out to win the inaugural title.

Teams have been entered from:

  • Denmark
  • France
  • Germany
  • Great Britain
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • The Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Russia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

Which nation do you think will be our 2020 Champion?

Each round will have a variety of formats, locations and boats, testing the eSailors’ ability in various races. The fleet races and subsequent rounds will be streamed on the eSailing World Championship Facebook page, and on World Sailing’s YouTube page.

The Notice of Race is available to view here.

For general enquiries, please contact For captains and team members to make specific enquiries, please use the designated server for the competition.